Tags

, , ,

dawn MISC PHOTOS cr playa sm

A NEW DAY – Dawn at Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica

These images show olive ridley sea turtle hatchlings experiencing the dawn of their first day of life.    The little one below has just emerged from its nest at a nursery at  Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica.

P1270825 tortugita good morning christamas  z

WAKE UP WORLD, IT’S A NEW DAY!

It’s fascinating to watch the little ones emerge from the sand; they immediately turn to the sound and aroma of the ocean and follow its call.

P1270818 tortugita early morning walk

“I think I can, I think I can!”

P1270816 tortugita early

I KNOW I Can, I KNOW I Can!

Like a baby mammal in search of its mother's first milk, the hatchling follows the call of the ocean.

Like a baby mammal in search of its mother’s first milk, the hatchling follows the call of the ocean.

P1270832 christmas morning tortugitas z

OLIVE RIDLEY SEA TURTLES. HATCHLINGS

OLIVE RIDLEY SEA TURTLE HATCHLINGS

Ahhhh!  Home Sweet Home!

Ahhhh! Home Sweet Home!

A few days after the hatchlings have returned to the sea, the nest is exhumed, and biologists inspect and collect data.  Every so often a (trapped?)  runt of the litter emerges!

texture hatchling emerging from egg

How magical it is to witness the awakening of an almost-dead hatchling!

texture hatchling emerging from shell

Within minutes, it too follows the call of the ocean!

P1180998 zarpe

Several times along its journey, it stops and imprints, perhaps noting the precise gps location of its beach of origin.

P1180997 zarpe THE LAST ONE email

Life teaches tough lessons, and the waves batter the hatchling until it is strong enough to continue forward.

P1190008 swim email

What joy it is to watch it master the lesson of swimming! This one regained its strength and swam like a champion!

P1190014 swim

Ignoring my running shoes and jeans, I waded deeper and cheered it on!

P1180994 nadar EMAIL

See other examples of “new’ at Ailsa’s Where’s My Backpack.

All images are owned and copyrighted by me; please reconsider before right clicking and uploading to Pinterest or other sites.

Thanks & Happy NEW Year!

Lisa/Z

