Tags

, , , , , , , ,

He sails through the air with the greatest of ease! (Costa Rica Howler Monkey)

He sails through the air with the greatest of ease! (Costa Rica Howler Monkey)

Stephen Schwartzman of Portraits of Wildflowers posted his Best of 2012 Nature Photos and told of a query from Scientific American’s Alex Wild  for “your best science/nature images…  See Stephen’s post HERE>

Many of my posts from 2012 featured encounters with nature from my life of total immersion in Costa Rica’s dry rain forest.  The howler monkeys taught me the nuances of their communications; the trusting little ones often scampered down the tree limbs to get a closer glimpse at the strange two-legged creature that sometimes spoke their language!

See more of that story here:  Howler 101 – Cultural Immersion.

"Will You Teach Me To Speak English?"   Cultural Exchange - Costa Rica

“Will You Teach Me To Speak English?” Cultural Exchange – Costa Rica

Variagated Squirrel - Costa Rica

Variagated Squirrel – Costa Rica

Living also in Ecuador, I have experienced close-up and personal views of wildlife along the banks of a lazy river.   Although the caterpillars defoliated the passion-fruit vines, witnessing this chrysalis was worth losing the crop!

CHRYSALIS FINISHE 00

For more images of the chrysalis, see Metamorposis.

My Costa Rica gardens provided a year-round oasis for flora and fauna.

07 cr butterfly P1100254 butterfly P1090381 butterfly bush

insect P1100798 what

I’ve often said that my life along the Mississippi River prepped me for Costa Rica, and my life in Costa Rica prepped me for Ecuador!

The foliage thief nibbled himself too fat to return through the fence!

This foliage thief nibbled himself too fat to squeeze back  through the fence! (Ecuador)  He seemed shocked that I gently clipped him loose then set him free!

My!  What big eyes you have!

Word obviously ‘got around’ that the gringa’s garden was neutral territory!   “Big Red” dashed onto the patio to escape a hound in hot pursuit!  (Costa Rica)

Exploring the beach always rewards an early riser, and the next images were featured HERE in Let’s Be Wild: Texture.  I almost dropped my camera when I realized what the hermit crab was wearing!

So I am forever peering into coconuts in search of treasures!

So I am forever peering into coconuts in search of treasures!

At times, my obsession pays off!

At times, my obsession pays off!

Dawn Baptism

Dawn Baptism

Many posts reflect my love not only for the howlers, but also for the olive ridley sea turtles.   See O Oh, Olive Ridley to see a nesting turtle as well as the tiny tortugitas scuttling to the ocean!

See more insect images on Peer Closer Through Macro Photography.

Please visit Alex’s  Scientific American post ‘Show Us Your Best ScienceNature ImagesHERE.

Thanks, Stephen and Alex!  I enjoyed a glance back at some of my favorite critters from 2012 archives!

