Tags

, , , , , ,

Ready, Set, Let's GO!

Ready, Set, Let’s Go NOW!!

After weeks and weeks of slow, gentle rains, the skies lightened yesterday, and I joined my fellow locals and mudded my way to town!    Although my kitchen  held a generous supply of basics, I’ve learned to always be prepared for unstable weather to flex its muscles and hang around for weeks.     I pulled a few weeds in the yard, which was a bit too muddy for weeding.

The test crop of quinoa is quite happy in this cool moist weather!

The test crop of quinoa (see Q is for Quinoa!)  is quite happy in this cool moist weather!

Hmmmm.  Should I walk to town in the mud or chance going later in the rain?  The trek would give me great material for this week’s challenge of “NOW” at Let’s Be Wild.    Oh yes, I looked forward to snapping images as I mudded to town and back!

I love my life n this last bend of the river.

I love my life n this last bend of the river.

Would you like to tag along?   Let’s Go!

Thirty steps away from the gate, I stop to admire five species of birds.

Thirty steps away from the gate, I stopped to admire five species of birds.

Why would the municipality fill a drainage canal that aided the shrimp industry year round?  Fill it they did, so much that the edges were higher than the road.   Surely they had enough vision to know that the slightest rain would turn the  road into a  small stream!

The new fill seemed less muddy than the road!

The new fill seemed less muddy than the road!

At this point I was really happy to be wearing mud boots!

At this point I was really happy to be wearing mud boots!

I wasn’t surprised, after our first big rain, that heavy equipment began emergency work to open the clogged channels!  They dumped more material onto the road, and made a lovely mess of patching the problem!     Another week passed, and heavy rains fell for days and days.  Like a child, I looked forward to inspecting the worst spots of the road!

An agricultural delivery truck gave me a ride!  I hopped in the back with two workers!

An agricultural delivery truck gave me a ride! I hopped in the back with two workers!

A colorful line of laundry always catches my eye!

A colorful line of laundry always catches my eye!

We went a short distance and turned onto a muddy side road!  I think they forgot I was in the back!

We went a short distance and turned onto a muddy side road! I think they forgot I was in the back! (He laughed after I took his photo and showed him the results!)

I bailed out and headed back to the main road.

I bailed out and headed back to the main road.

Later in town, I had lunch with the owner of this land.  He said, "LIsa!  I saw you walking beside one of the shrimp ponds..  My worker said, 'Oh, that's Lisa!"  Everyone knows who you are!"

(Above: Birds in Sawyer’s shrimp pond) Later in town, I had lunch with Sawyer. He said, “Lisa! I saw you walking beside one of the shrimp ponds.. My worker said, ‘Oh, that’s Lisa!’ Everyone knows who you are!”

Itty Bitty Bird Tracks!

Itty Bitty Bird Tracks!

Before the new road ‘improvements, a line of small thorny “Garrobo” trees lined a stretch of this road.   Vermillion flycathers, Peruvian Meadolarks and many other species flitted from tree to tree.  Quothe the raven, ‘Nevermore.’   A lone tree stands here or there, a token memory of that shady stretch of  road.

And more...

The lone Garrobo tree guards the entrance to a side road.

At lunch, I suggested to Sawyer that we convert the road to a 4-wheel-drive race track!

At lunch, I suggested to Sawyer that we convert the road to a 4-wheel-drive race track!

Like a child, I anticipated exploring this lagoon!

Like a child, I anticipated exploring this lagoon!

What fun!  Here comes a big truck, and I know who this is!

What fun! Here comes a big truck, and I know who this is!

My dear gentle friend who tolerates the artist's thirst for taking photos!

My dear gentle friend who tolerates the artist’s thirst for taking photos!

Kerspllllllllllash!

Kerspllllllllllash!

The guy in the back took the water jug, and I climbed in the cab!

The guy in the back took the water jug, and I climbed in the cab!

Some people think that third-word countries are dangerous;  thankfully there are sweet angels who enhance the quality of my days!

Some people think that third-word countries are dangerous; thankfully there are sweet angels who enhance the quality of my days!  I often feel as if I’m in a time warp and am back on the farm of my childhood in Mississippi!

Always polite, always gentle and kind,  most Ecuadorians have a high code of honor!

Always polite, always gentle and kind, most Ecuadorians have a high code of honor!

After returning an empty water bottle to my friends’ corner market, I walked to the center of town in search of more photos of NOW.

This guy zipped past!

This guy,  focused on his latest text message, zipped past!

Taking a break from her municipality job, this lady wished she could be outside NOW!

Taking a break from her municipality job, this lady wished she could be outside NOW!

How's this for a classic tandem ride?

How’s this for a classic tandem ride to town?

Approaching the center of town, I sense a break in the clouds.

Approaching the center of town, I sensed a break in the clouds.  Or was that wishful thinking?

Mototaxis line the side street beside the central park.

Mototaxis lined the side street beside the central park.

Before leaving, I stopped by the carpenters’ shop for help with a project.

Two Brothers' Workshop.  I LOVE stopping by this place!  One never knows what they're working on, or what animals might  be waiting to say "Hello."

Two Brothers’ Workshop. I LOVE stopping by this place! One never knows what they’re working on, or what animals might be waiting to say “Hello.”

Brothers Amable and Luis consider ways to make a simple wooden swing!

Brothers Amable and Luis consider ways to help me make a simple wooden swing!

Mama Cat continued her dreams...

Mama Cat continued her dreams…

Young gatito inspected the camera!

Young gatito inspected the camera!

Bored, it stretched and ambled away!

Bored, it stretched and ambled away!

I noted slight movement beneath a row of boards and peeked beneath!

I noted slight movement beneath a row of boards and peeked beneath!

I discovered another curious young animal!

I discovered another curious young hiccup of a puppy!

This bird does NOT like me!  It totters away whenever I approach!

This bird does NOT like me! It totters away whenever I approach!

Returning home via mototaxi, I spent the remaining hours pulling weeds and working in the garden.   I dashed for my camera when this fisherman paddled by in his canoe!

Back home I pulled weeds and grass until my down-river neighbor paddled past the house!

Is a simple life really so bad?  If not, why do so many people work in high-stress jobs?

I never tire of watching those lazy canoes!

I never tire of watching those lazy canoes!  Maybe one has to have had that high-stress life before embracing a quieter one.

Classic Beauty.

Classic Beauty.  Often times, my biggest stress comes from foliage eating caterpillars (and goats!)

The softness of the end-of-day light prompted me to take one final photo.

Ah, little did I know that I'd stay up til 3 as I worked on images from the past day!

Ah, little did I know that I’d stay up til 3 working on images from the day!

Thanks for hanging with me!  I hope you enjoyed the trek to town and back!  Visit other entries for Let’s Be Wild “NOW”  as well as Jake’s Sunday Post of FOCUSED ATTENTION.