Tags

, , ,

About five kilometers from town, I live a stone's throw from the ocean!

Shrimp ponds, Rio Jama and the Pacific Ocean!!

So this afternoon found me muddin’ again.  The waterline to the house had a slight leak, and it wasn’t going to magically repair itself!  Between rain showers,  I rolled up my – jeans (!) and went to work on the line!  The line runs from the public road along the edge of the shrimp pond, across the drive and into the yard.  It’s a flexible one-inch black tube that the municipality rolled out, hooked up, and left on top of the ground.    Later I buried the hose a spade deep — everywhere except where it ‘swagged’ along the edge of the shrimp pond.

The  birds love to feast after a shrimp harvest!

The birds love to feast after a shrimp harvest!

I opened the water valve to confirm where the leak was, marked the spot, turned off the water, and made an easy repair.  With my feet in the pond, I noted the almost-perfect temperature of the water.  “Nice enough for swimming,” I thought.

I cannot imagine why it split, can you?!

With workers scrambling up and down the side of the pond, I cannot imagine why the hose split, can you?!

And then I remembered an incident that happened a few weeks ago.   I smiled, “How could I have forgotten that?!  Those photos are perfect for ‘Unique!”

The sound of the outboard motor was coming from the wrong side of the house!

The sound of the outboard motor was coming from the wrong side of the house!

P1620924 xavier boat

That’s my friend Xavier Cevallos, whose family owns the shrimp ponds!

P1620925 xavier boat pond

The boat captain is a farm employee, who had never operated an outboard motor until that afternoon!

P1620923 xavier shrimp pond fun

Ah, they’re in pretty good form…

P1620914 xavier boat pond

…until the turn…..

The farm worker had never driven a boat before!  I laughed a lot!

I laughed a lot!

This is one fun way to oxygenate a pond, don't you think?

This is one unique way to oxygenate a pond, don’t you think?

I hope you enjoyed another example of “Unique.”

Z

