Tags

, , , , , , , ,

nicaragua late afternoon limon dos Thanks, Let’s Be Wild, for selecting the image of “Little Bit” Iguana in last week’s winner’s circle.  This week’s theme is Wanderlust, a perfect topic for the life of the Zeebra!

When I was about ten years old, our class studied about Argentina’s  pastoral Pampas grasslands.  The images of horses and cattle affected me, and I dreamed of living in faraway Argentina.

Oops... This is Nicaragua - we haven't made it to Argentina yet!

Oops.. This is Nicaragua – We haven’t made it to Argentina yet!

Mark Knofler’s song Wanderlust makes a perfect backdrop for this post, and the video is paired with images from Ecuador.    Enjoy the song while scrolling through these images of Latin America.

"Wait for me!"

“Wait for me!”

P1570758 early morning llamas

Early Morning Hacienda Guachala, Ecuador

P1570799 LLAMA MORNING

Hacienda Guachala Ecuador

The words follow:

Big black cloud… On a yellow plain,

Sure enough, it Looks like rain…

Packin’ up all our Faith and trust….

Me and the wanderlust

Nandayure/Guanacaste/ COSTA RICA

Nandayure/Guanacaste/ COSTA RICA

When young, I often left my parents a sunrise note, “Gone to catch my horse.  I will be riding...”  and I might have drawn a map or scribbled the general direction where I planned to ride for the morning.  I loved exploring the cotton fields, the lazy sloughs, or the pastures and rich woodlands along the oxbow lake that was once the mighty Mississippi River.

Santa Teresa/Manabi/Ecuador

Santa Teresa/Manabi/Ecuador – A true step back in time!

Exp

Jama, Ecuador – I explore my friends’ farm with the same childhood curiosity for peeking around the next bend!

Open window, Empty bed and chair,

Who’s that callin,’ Ain’t nobody there…

I look behind me, And I see there’s just…

Me and the wanderlust

My trail led me to Costa Rica, where I lived in harmony with nature.

My trail led me to Costa Rica, where I lived in harmony with nature.

My wanderlust trail has taken me throughout Central America.  When I ponder staying in one place verses the many areas I’ve visited, I am grateful to have experienced other cultures and crossed paths with so many amazing people.   One area preps me for the next, and I am thankful for my journey.

Republic of Panama

Republic of Panama

Republic of Panama

Republic of Panama

Sunrise - Balboa - Republic of Panama

Sunrise – Balboa – Republic of Panama

01 destinations panama mola artisan shhhhh

The Kuna Indians of Panama create the textiles that inspired the Mola Series of paintings.

Oh, don't we love to take a photograph! Republic of Panama -

Republic of Panama -

Manabi Ecuador

Manabi Ecuador

rivas horse cart chats

Rivas Nicaragua

Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Dead of night, I had a dream…

Sky was bright yes, 

And the fields were green…

I was down the road,

In a cloud of dust…

Me and the wanderlust…

cabalgata sudden deathh lisa

Most of the locals in Costa Rica did not know that I was once a champion barrel racer!

After the competition

After the competition

on the road y into el salvadorrr WANDERLUST

Let’s zip down the Panamerican Highway!

El Salvador

El Salvador

Leaving La Libertad El Salvador

Leaving La Libertad El Salvador

El Salvador

El Salvador

HONDURAS

HONDURAS

Nicaragua

Nicaragua

Isla Ometepe - Nicaragua

Isla Ometepe – Nicaragua

San Juan Del Sur Nicaragua

San Juan Del Sur Nicaragua

Nicaragua

Nicaragua (Sticks for fireworks?)

Nicarauga

Nicarauga

on the road t tica bus

Guatemala,  El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and the Republic of Panama have all enriched my life.    Ecuador now serves as home plate, while Argentina  quietly beckons like Venus twinkling in the evening mist.    I am sure it’s part of my personal journey to reach that point, stomp my foot on home plate and say, ‘Safe!  I made it!’    (But what’s next?!)

And I’m on the edge..

Of an endless fall, Sure enough…

He’s come to call, Got to go now…

Get on that bus,

Me and the wanderlust ….

Hang  tight!

Hang tight! – Ecuador

San Juan Del Sur Nicaragua

San Juan Del Sur Nicaragua

nicaragua bus dust and arroz

Nicaragua

(Now this is a true FREE RIDE!)

(Now this is a true FREE RIDE!) Limon Nicaragua

movement y calm costa rica 6 a.m. san miguel

Costa Rica

Oh! To step into this scene would enhance the quality of anyone's day!  Costa Rica

Oh! To step into this scene would enhance the quality of anyone’s day! Costa Rica

My amigo, Carlos, of 1CruzdelSur posted these images of Argentina’s pastoral equine world – the same world that infected me with the wanderlust spirit a lifetime ago.

P1580255 guaranda bound burro  fog

This burro seemed quite attached to us after we stopped to say, ‘Hello!”

I promise, I'll be good if you take me home with you!

“I promise, I’ll be good if you take me home with you!”

Check out more posts on the wanderlust theme HERE; thanks, Let’s Be Wild/Wild Weekly, for these challenges that seem to be custom tailored to my life!

Lisa/Z