Tags

, , , ,

Sunset from Park Avenue Villas

San Juan del Sur endeared itself to me in 2001 when I consulted a pictorial map in Rivas and saw the symbols for food and lodging where a road ended at the Pacific coast. The sleepy little town town’s picturesque front street was a mix between classic Pacific post card and Colonial American architecture.  I liked it instantly.

Walking one street back from the harbor, I felt as if I had stepped onto the set of a Hollywood ghost town! The streets were swept clean, and the empty buildings were basic and unpainted, yet dripped with character.

“I wish I had enough money to buy the entire town!” I exclaimed to my friends when I returned to Costa Rica.

The rest of the world quickly discovered the little gem of SJDS.

When I returned several years later, the little ghost town that Vanderbilt built had blossomed into a bustling tourist town! SJDS is one of the few places I have visited that has kept its original freshness while merging with popular tourism and obtaining worldwide fame.

Zeebra Maps is proud to feature SJDS on its list of unique spots! Please visit the sponsors’ websites for this edition and thank them for supporting Zeebra Maps! – Z

Park Avenue Villas

SPONSORS:

“NO BAD DAYS” SAILING TOURS and SEA SCOUT PROGRAM:
PARK AVENUE HOTEL (Ralph and Renda, you’re the BEST!)
REMANSO BEACH
FrEDERICA’S B&B www.fredericasbandb.com

