Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Papelito's Corner Plantains - Jama, Ecuador.  After four years, he recently informed me that his real name is Walter!

Papelito’s Corner Plantains – Jama, Ecuador. After four years, he recently informed me that his real name is Walter!

I try to keep bananas on hand to use in place of sugar when blending a natural drink.   My present favorite drink contains papaya, red hibiscus blossoms, fresh mint, maracuya (passion fruit) and the optional banana.  Since red and green make brown, the mint makes the concoction a bit ugly – but hey! – dim the lights and enjoy the flavor while your body drinks in nutrients! I often forget to strain the drinks before serving my friends, and they stare at me with this, “You really don’t expect me to drink this….. do you?” kind of look!

P1450059 papalitos place

P1550662 bananas

Bahia Ecuador Bananas

Bahia Banana Lady

Bahia Banana Lady

Have you ever wondered what bananas look like when you find them in the wild?  Enjoy a trek with Kris and Joel in Panama’s northern region and see some bananas that don’t quite look like the ones you buy at the supermarket!Read it HERE:  Let’s Go Hunt For Bananas!

John and Mary McDonald in San Clemente, Ecuador showered me with an ‘all you can eat’ bananafest (as well as an amazing Sunday feast!)  Read how they happened upon a surplus of bananas HERE: Yes, We Have Bananas!

Bananas and more bananas!

Bananas at my doorstop!

Whoa!  May I take a photo?

Whoa! May I take a photo?

Shucks!  I was leaving for the week!  He kept riding in search of a buyer for the bananas.

Shucks! I was leaving for the week! He kept riding in search of a customer.

Posts about bananas keep crossing my reading field,  and when there is a surplus of bananas, one searches for creative ways to use them!  Scroll through this recipe for Hummingbird  Cake on Blue Jelly Beans website, and you’ll be assembling ingredients as quickly as possible!   Indulging in all of those calories negates the banana hibiscus tea choice, yet drinking the tea also helps balance the guilt!   Go ahead and indulge!  Hummingbird Cake

Green bananas can be cooked and used as a potato substitude!

Green bananas can be cooked and used as a potato substitude!

Green bananas find their way into soups and salads as a potato substitute.   Paper thin slices of green bananas or plantains often replace potato chips as a fried side dish.  Most of my friends prefer chifles over patacones,  which are thicker wedges of plantains that are partially cooked, smashed slightly then fried again.

Find out all there is to know about cooking chifles on Laylita’s site: Chifles or Fried Green Banana Chips. 

Laylita shares a secret about making perfect patacones that stay crispy.   Find it here Patacones or Tostones Recipe

Laylita’s appetizer sampler might prompt you to book that airfare for an Ecuadorian food fest!  Ecuadorian Appetizers and Snacks

Once I made banana flower salad.  After working for hours for stained fingers and a handful of banana flower stamens, I declared that one could not pay me enough money to create that dish again!!!    If you’re curious, spices and aroma has a great pictorial to go with this recipe.  Banana Flower Stir Fry

P1270451 green bananas y flower

I purchase banana bread from one of the local bakers in town, and the moistness and flavor takes me back to my childhood!   Mother always made a great banana bread crammed with pecans that fell from our trees each autumn.

Jama Bakers - Happy To Serve!

Jama Bakers – Happy To Serve!

From New Zealand comes Gallivanta’s post which features a banana bread recipe from an old weathered South Seas Island Recipes book.   (She also shares a clever hint for polishing shoes!)  Enjoy her post here South Sea Island Delight, and she’ll also enjoy receiving this pingback!

Cruzita Banana Man (Ecuador)

Cruzita Banana Man (Ecuador)

The magpie jays often claimed a large share of the bananas where I lived in Costa Rica.  I enjoyed working from life on the following painting, although precise detail came from reference photos of the birds.

Acrylic Study of Magpie Jays- Costa Rica

Acrylic Study of Magpie Jays- Costa Rica

AWARD super-sweet-blogging-award21-copy1

Super Sweet! Super Sweet!

This was also a test of pingbacks for the blogs that I mentioned.  My friends will surely agree that it’s nice to have a pingback from someone who enjoys our posts and shares it with others!  I would also like to pass along the Super Sweet Blogger to them as well!

I’ll leave you with a photo of Papelito- oops, Walter, and you’ll understand why his place is my last stop before leaving town! He always greets me with a warm smile!

Still Smiling!

Still Smiling!

With all of this talk about bananas, I think I’ll go whirl a banana, maracuya and hibiscus drink in the blender!  If you stop in, I’ll remember to strain it!

Adios!  See you again soon!

Adios! See you again soon!

