Tags

, , ,

Mototaxis line the side street beside Jama Ecuador's central park.

Mototaxis line the side street beside Jama Ecuador’s central park.

Frizztext pointed out that my post, Remembering Jenny covers the J, and I was pleased to be a day ahead on the next letter for the alphabet challenge.   Disciplining myself to select words in Spanish for this round forces me to learn a bit more Spanish.   As an artist, I have often taken shortcuts to get my point across without using Spanish – I sketch the essence of what is needed, and most people understand!

Sometimes no language is needed; the awol spinning top landed in the market gutter!  (Photo by Marie Groff)  Guaranda Ecuador

Sometimes no language is needed; the AWOL spinning top landed in the market gutter! (Photo by Marie Groff) Guaranda Ecuador

The J in Spanish usually takes on the H sound.  I often type, “Ja-Ja-Ja-Ja” for “Ha-Ha-Ha-Ha” and hope that my friends make the connection in Spanish;  otherwise they must think I’m losing my mind!  Junio and Julio (June and July) are two more Spanish words that are easy to convert from English.

When I listened to a song by Jarabe de Palo, I smiled and thought, “Eureka! J is for Jarabe!”

Jarabe usually refers to a syrup, though it can also be a Mexican folk dance!

Here is Jarabe de Palo singing “Agua.”   This is a very easy video to follow while enunciating the words, even if you’re not sure what they mean!  Agua – Everyone knows what that means, right? (Water!)   Sed? – Thirsty!

Here’s a link to a lyrics translation for the song.   Scroll down to suggestion #3.

After watching the version with the lyrics, enjoy this official version!

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEQqN3oQ8Vc

Visit Wilkipedia for more about Jarabe de Palo.

Just an expression sometimes communicates volumes!  (Photo by Marie Groff)

Just an expression sometimes communicates volumes! (Photo by Marie Groff)

See more at Frizztext’s post HERE.

Happy weekend, everyone!

Z

