Tags

, , , , , ,

From The Deck

From The Deck

Having grown up along the Mississippi River, I find comfort in streams, lakes and rivers. The alphabet challenge brings us to the letter R, which allows me to showcase my special view of Rio Jama.

riverhouse P1560321 room with a view

P1640022 mano rojo amarillo river house rio jama

One could not ask for a more pristine start to a day!

One could not ask for a more pristine start to a day!

Riachuelo – Small river or stream

IMG_0089

Rama – A rama is a branch, so what is a ramada?

beautiful thatch south of manta P1400028

A ramada is an open shelter that provides shade and is made with branches or bamboo.  In the tropics, they are often topped with palm leaves.  A rancho is a small hut or primitive living quarters, often constructed with natural materials.

0 rancho
riverhouse P1560344 maestros agustine cristian join the day

hostal cruzita P1430016

Here are a few more Spanish words that start with R:
Rico – Rich
Rodilla – Knee
Ropa – Clothes
Rubio – Blond
Ron – Rum

rycardo 15 bat

Carving by Rycard Alcivar

Rabioso – (Rabid)  The thought of rabies makes most anyone quiver!  Can you imagine what it feels like to awaken and find that a vampire bat had feasted on your blood while you slept?  That’s happened to me not once or twice, but five times in the twelve years I’ve lived in Latin America!  My friends sometimes hand me a broom on full moon nights and say in good fun, “Fly home, Bruja Blanca!”

A biologist scribbled the scientific name, Desmodus rotundus, for this bat when I showed him the type of bat that had most likely had bitten me!

A biologist scribbled the scientific name, Desmodus rotundus, for this bat when I showed him the type of bat that had most likely bitten me!

I’ll leave you with a lively song by Shakira – Rabiosa!

(Sorry, the video will end abruptly!)

Visit Frizztext’s site to enjoy his own river stories as well as posts from other bloggers.

Z

