Tags

, , , , , , ,

Sonrisa - Smile

Break time from kitchen duty! Doesn’t she have a genuine smile?

There are many great words that start with S in Spanish.  After I typed an assortment of words in the “New Post” page, I pondered the many photo options for those words.

Most people don’t particularly care for images of snakes; the word for a poisonous snake is serpiente. (Otherwise it’s culebra – correct me, Spanish speakers, if I’m wrong!)

I usually sign my emails and notes with the word siempre, which means always.

Sandia – watermelon would make a fun pictorial, as would sapo – toad.  (A frog is called a rana.)

Other helpful words are Sabor-Taste,   Sed-Thirsty, Salud-Health, Salud-Cheers, and Salud-Bless You! Last year I was walking down a quiet sidewalk in Cruzita, and two men were walking on the other side of the street.  One sneezed, and I automatically stated, Salud!” and kept walking.  They looked over at me, were shocked to see an ‘outsider,’  and they chuckled – as did I!

Shunning all of the above, I present to you an assortment of sonrisas in honor of Mother’s Day! (The photos were taken in Ecuador unless otherwise noted.)  Enjoy!

Friends for Life!  I remember when he was a little babe sleeping in his grandmother's hammock!

Friends for Life! I remember when he was a little babe sleeping in his grandmother’s hammock!

people  P1620057 WINDOW SMILES faces P1410422 ano viejo jama smiles P1690654 window door smiles

She's happy to serve fresh grilled tuna for breakfast!  Playa Tarqui - Manta - Ecuador

She’s happy to serve fresh grilled tuna for breakfast! Playa Tarqui – Manta – Ecuador

P1670464 gye MUSEO smile

P1700186 window smiles

Artists Are Happy People!  El Matal, Ecuador

Artists Are Happy People! El Matal, Ecuador

P1530143 sonrisa

P1470333 great sonrisa

eduardo y lisa one friend

P1620052 a for arbol my precious friend jama

P1620499 JAMA PARK christmas eve my two friends

Amigos - San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua

Amigos – San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua

P1510431 curb friends

P1600323 marta y rowen

Lovely Smile - Republic of Panama

Lovely Smile – Republic of Panama

Sweet Smiles - The Gifts of Innocence

Sweet Smiles – The Gifts of Innocence

lisa jama children one friend

One of many sidewalk vegetable spots in Jama

Always, always acknowledge the elderly!

marie one friend

Costa Rica

P1340752 maria sombrero laughs

P1470611 maria

P1700232 little boy smiles P1700302 santa smiles

P1700249 window smiles
P1700247 window smiles

Detail "Twin Smiles"

Detail “Twin Smiles” – Acrylic

Oh, to be happy!   Museo Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador

Oh, to be happy! Museo Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador

Monkey see, monkey do, I see a monkey just like YOU!

Monkey see, monkey do, I see a monkey just like YOU!

This post is not only for Frizztext’s Alphabet Challenge but also for Jake’s Sunday post in honor of Mother’s Day.

Enjoy Elvis Crespo’s lively merengue song, Tu Sonrisa (Your Smile)!

Z

Ka-BOOM – What are the odds that I published this post then read another that opened with:  “SMILING PEOPLE.”   For another dose of positive thinking, see CHARRON’S CHATTER/Sugar & Spice

Tired But Smiling - Jama, Ecuador / This lady sweeps the streets seven days a week. I caught her at the end of the day, tired but still smling.  I adore her.

Tired But Smiling – Jama, Ecuador / This lady sweeps the streets seven days a week. I caught her at the end of the day, tired but still smling. I adore her.