Tags

, , , ,

(Ecuador)

P1720826 casa loca y more

What I do when a page won’t load or an email won’t open! Bienvenidos to Casa Loca!

“When my daughter was about seven years old, she asked me one day what I did at work.  I told her I worked at the college – that my job was to teach people how to draw.  She stared back and me, incredulous, and said, “You mean they forget?”  (Howard Ikemoto)

P1720831 leaf in progress pencil

WordPress folks, YOU ROCK!  You quickly steered the once-a week drawing theme into an amazing community project!   It’s going to be so much fun to see what people draw each week, and to witness the team spirit as we compare notes and swap philosophies about art.   I encourage any of you that would like to test the waters – if you’ve never attempted to seriously draw, give it a try!  Others might have let their talents atrophy;  pick up that pencil and fight to reclaim your gift!

On Sunday I walked to the little beach community of La Division, and while waiting on lunch, I selected a potted plant near the steps to the restaurant, set it on the table and began this drawing.  Nelly, the owner, scowled at me and said that the plant was ugly, but then she looked at my drawing and changed her mind!

I always encourage my students to spend five or ten minutes warming up.  Like any athlete, it’s good to prep the body and spirit for the task at hand.   You can see that my first attempt at left-handed warmups was quite spastic;  the next line was much easier, and the third one looks as if were drawn by a different person!

Left hand, right hand..

Left hand, right hand..

The left-handed cross hatching (above) looks quite spastic as well!  I enjoyed doing the warmups and recommend that everyone try those brain-strengthening exercises!   The botanical sketch is almost finished;  in no hurry, I work on it when I have spare time and find that I get a bit dream-like lost in the shading.  I actually fell asleep while shading today, so with a smirk, I put down the paper and stopped!

P1720850 LEAF STUDY lisa

(Tomorrow I will upload the finished drawing in addition to the left-handed sketch, but for now, we have this week’s “Community Drawing” link: Timeout for Art:  Through A Child’s Eyes.

Visit Peace, Wisdom, Prosperity for a heart-warming ‘first pencil drawing’ for this week’s Timeout for Art!

Slow internet prevents me from answering most of your comments in the daytime, but I can usually read them!  Thanks in advance, everyone, and I’ll reply when possible!  Z

