Tags

, , , , ,

/>P1760961 butterfly morpho mindo

The trip to the Amazon has been postponed, so today finds me taking a two-day time out in Mindo Ecuador. This morning I visited the Butterfly Garden, located three kilometers from town.   What a delightful childlike immersion in nature I spent while trying to capture the elusive blue morpho with my camera!

P1760962 butterfly morpho mindo P1770010 butterfly blurr P1770015 morpho blurrr

Butterflies, butterflies and more butterflies floated past me on gentle currents of air.  With stealth-like instincts, the erratic morphos dodged unseen predators.  Capturing them with the camera seemed fruitless!  One cobalt beauty finally took pity on me!

P1760968 butterfly morpho mindo

Alas, at times one lingered long enough as if to say, “You earned this one…”

Oops!  How did these fly into the scene?  (From a mural at Sarah's house - last week)

Oops! How did these fly into the scene? (From a mural at Sarah’s house – last week)

There’s so much to share – (decent images of butterflies!) – but my dance card is filled with more photo opportunities!  I am hopeful for some great captures of hummingbirds as I enjoy a very late lunch, and a sunset ‘frog chorus’ will be the finale of the evening!

This one landed on my jeans and tagged along for ten or fifteen minutes! - How many butterflies do you see in the background?!

This one landed on my jeans and tagged along for ten or fifteen minutes! – How many butterflies do you see in the background?!

"Please do not touch!"

“Please do not touch!”

More Blurrrrrs!

More Blurrrrrs!

Wait! Hold that pose!

Wait! Hold that pose!

A different kind of butterfly blur!

A different kind of butterfly blur!

Ah!  Every so often there's a great photo moment!

Ah! Every so often there’s a great photo moment!

"Life Butterfly" for me!

“Life Butterfly” for me!

Another view of "Life Butterfly."

Another view of “Life Butterfly.”

P1770188 MINDO BUTTERFLIES

(For my artist friends, “Nature” will be the theme for this next week.)  I will be back later tonight with the Timeout for Art post.  For now, I’m dashing off to see more hummingbirds!

"Life Birds" for sure!  (Second Mural at Sarah's House)

“Life Birds” for sure! (Second Mural – one day before finished – at Sarah’s House)

Z

