Tags

, , , , , ,

ImageEl Matal – Ecuador

How’s this for straight-from-the-ocean fresh?  Sarah at WordPress asked us to show FRESH.

P1770925 FRESH FISH

Cruzita Ecuador - Atun

Cruzita Ecuador – Atun

Within hearing distance of the surf, the riverhouse provides many opportunities to observe just-caught moments.

I caught this mystery fish in brackish water near the Pacific Ocean in Ecuador.

I caught this mystery fish in brackish water near the Pacific Ocean in Ecuador.

Expecting the side fins to barb me like a catfish, I did not notice the tiny tope-like opening here.   The fish "spit' a milky liquid  at me!

Expecting the side fins to barb me like a catfish, I did not notice the tiny torpedo-like opening here. The fish “spit’ a milky liquid at me!

One would expect that to be a huge fish, but you can see it was tiny!   I've never seen one since.

One would expect that to be a huge fish, but you can see it was tiny! I’ve never seen one since.

Night heron with fish!

Unless this was one… Night heron with fish! (copyright Lisa Brunetti)

A byproduct of harvesting a shrimp pond, these should be sold as shrimp-fed crabs!

A byproduct of harvesting a shrimp pond, these should be sold as shrimp-fed crabs!

Local fishermen sell these colorful crabs in town.

Local fishermen sell these colorful crabs in town.

Ha!  Predators are everywhere!

Ha! Predators are everywhere! (Frog inspecting “If Fish Could Fly”)

…  Stay tuned; the shrimp harvest is coming next!

