Tags

, , ,

P1920105 ano viejo

With a tiny slice of time, I am again sharing images of my most favorite mascots that dot the Ecuadorian landscapes during this final week of the year.

P1920110 ano viejo P1920112 ano viejo

Each year they seem more scarce, and their absence concerns me.  As with flowers, the presence or absence of these ‘ano viejo’ effigies somehow represents the soul of the community.  Why are they no longer enjoying this custom in my sweet community?

Vanishing traditions from earlier years

Vanishing traditions from earlier years

Burn away the old and step into a new year!

Burn away the old and step into a new year!

Years ago, the town of Jama held competitions, and the streets were lined with highly-creative Ano Viejos! All week long, people worked on their masterpieces, and I loved walking through the neighborhoods and admiring the unique sculptures.  This year I spotted two in my walk through town, one day before New Year’s Eve.  (I should give them a prize!)

One of two effigies on a back street of Jama Ecuador!

One of two effigies on a back street of Jama Ecuador!

One can find the mass-produced effigies in many towns, but the ture works of art are vanishing.
Below: Many effigies guard the malecon in Baha de Caraquez.

P1920127 ano viejo P1920122 ano viejo P1920121 ano viejo P1920118 ano viejo

Public art is so important, especially when community projects are included!   I paused to read this sign and then laughed! How could I not donate fifty cents so that someone could buy a limonade-ita?! (Bahia de Caraquez)

P1920114 ano viejo

I asked, "Are you the artist?"   "Yes," he bashfully nodded!

I asked, “Are you the artist?” “Yes,” he bashfully nodded!

Even if you’re not ready to sculpt a masterpiece, take the center cardboard roll from paper towels and wrap some newspapers around it and form a token New Year’s Eve effigy.  Burn it at midnight and burn away the old year, all good and all bad that has happened, and start the new year fresh!

I bought the white one from a young boy for seven dollars.  I plan to paint mine and keep it!  I"ll make another to burn!

I bought the white one from a young boy for seven dollars. I plan to paint mine and keep it! I”ll make another to burn!

Jama DOES have one amazing work of art under construction. Thankfully it won’t be burned, but this project in progress deserves its own post.

Click your heels together and prepare for an amazing work of art! Stay tuned!

Click your heels together and prepare for an amazing work of art! Stay tuned!

It’s great to be back on the coast!  Happy New Year, everyone, and Happy Birthday to my sister Pat!

Lisa/Z

