Tags

, ,

April 1, 2014 - Did the sun know of the upcoming earthquake?

April 1, 2014 – Did the sun know of the upcoming earthquake?

At sunset yesterday, I noted that the tidal waters seemed a bit different – I could not articulate why, but there was something strange or surreal about the way the water was moving;  the birds used different flight patterns as well, and many more egrets and herons roosted in the mangroves; the pelicans were absent.  (That happened last year a few days before bad weather approached.)

After sunset, I came inside and followed a random ‘tweet……. tweet……………….. tweet…………….’ to its source and welcomed a frightened nomad for a B&B night at Casa Loca!  Last year I flunked Baby Bird Rescue, so this year I tried a different menu.

Look who came for dinner!  (I fed it aloe vera water and mashed aloe vera pulp!

Look who came for dinner! (I fed it aloe vera water and mashed aloe vera pulp!

When RED ALERT- notices arrive in the dark of night, and they tell of continent-rattling earthquakes and warn of possible tsunamis barreling toward distant shorelines, one goes into full-alert status!   My friend Xavier was visiting, and the alert came via his always-on-standby high-tech telephone!   We  knew that the tide was falling, but one always has that question of, “What if?”

P1970228 APRIL 1 SUNSET 2014

The ocean waves rolled through the mangroves at high tide and spilled out on the far upriver side.

After half an hour of searching for more information, Xavier went to his home on the far side of the ponds, and I tried to coax this USB/metal mixing bowl internet to communicate with the world wide web!  Internet speed increased as the midnight hour approached, and I was touched by the emails and comments of warning and of concern.    My father once stated, ‘Imagine how empty your life would be if no one called or came by…’  and I am so grateful for my circle of friends and loved ones.

(Little Bird Wren fared well during the night, and at dawn, I retrieved a ladder and returned it to its nest.  A cluster of adult wrens chattered excessively – perhaps to scold the baby for leaping out of the nest, or to scold me for stealing their baby, or perhaps they were thanking me!)

P1970198 young egret riverhouse y swallow

A day earlier, this young egret acted strange – almost domesticated, as if it wanted to come inside!

A warm greeting of thanks goes to all of you; the eastern Pacific Coast dodged a tsunami bullet last night!  Thanks for your concern, your support and your presence in my life.  I am richer emotionally because of all of you.

Z

