Tags

, , , , ,

Sunrise over the shrimp ponds...

Sunrise over the shrimp ponds…

“Morning, which is the most memorable season of the day, is the awakening hour…”   and for a minute some part of us “… awakens which slumbers the rest of the day and night…” – Thoreau

I left my house around 4 in the morning to walk to this spot to capture the awakening day... and an ample amount of photo moments awaited...

I left my house around 4 in the morning to walk to this spot to capture the awakening day… and an ample amount of photo moments awaited…

Matt at WordPress tossed a morsel of a prompt, and since I had just reviewed the images marked, ‘Dawn,” I quickly opened a “New Post” page.

Sometimes I work on artistic projects all night and am brought to a stopping point by the sounds of the awakening birds.  Viewing dawn on the river reminds me of how timeless this last bend of the river can be.

The anticipation of dawn beneath full-moon skies

The anticipation of dawn beneath full-moon skies

The moon sets over the river.

The moon sets over the river.

My most memorable dawn moments happen when I awaken around 4 and venture outside to witness the visual beauty to the start of the day.  My senses are usually heightened, and with a strong attachment to the surrounding landscape, I try to capture that beauty.

Join me on a cyber walk on one of Costa Rica’s most beautiful beaches, Playa San Miguel. We’ll start with photos from the awakening day photo from above:

What a peaceful tonic for the soul!

What a peaceful tonic for the soul!

05 CR dawnn

00 04 dawn splashes b

00 07 rockss dawn sunrise

After the colors faded from the sky, but while the morning sun shone its dramatic spotlight on the landscape, I explored the beach with childlike wonder.

00 13 P1020317 dawn crab

00 23 dawn san miguel

00 25 dawn coconut

Wouldn’t anyone with childlike curiosity want to peer into that coconut?

I enjoyed photographing them as they left the scene of their feast!

I enjoyed photographing the hermit crabs as they left the scene of their feast!

But wait... what's this?

But wait… what’s this?

…What WAS that white object?

I cold have stayed in bed and slept through this moment!

I cold have stayed in bed and slept through this moment!

Will this one ever have stories to tell on full-moon nights!

Will this one ever have stories to tell on full-moon nights!

Thanks, Let's Be Wild, for this great opportunity to share a very memorable dawn/sunrise moment!

Sometimes the ocean is not so benevolent, and this image records the destructive waves at Playa San Miguel Costa Rica.

The locals harvested the hearts of palm before the ocean claimed these lovely victims.

The locals harvested the hearts of palm before the ocean claimed these lovely victims.

During the rainy season, dawn treks to the beach are often rewarded with the glimpse of a rare nesting olive ridley sea turtle!

dawn P1190511

dawn P1190512

Had I slept longer, I would have missed her return to the sea…

dawn surprise

dawn surprise

Dawn gives us many reasons to crawl out of bed and get in touch with all of our senses. I have never regretted those dawn moments immersed in nature.

Witnessing the tortugitas first clear breath of air makes a grand welcome to the morning!

Witnessing the tortugitas first clear breath of air makes a grand welcome to the morning!

Christmas morning 2012 - What a gift to cheer the baby turtles as they trekked to their first dip in the ocean!

Christmas morning 2012 – What a gift to cheer the baby turtles as they trekked to their first dip in the ocean!

When is the last time you were immersed in nature at dawn?

Z

