Tags

, ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hmmm, which task comes next?!

The problem isn’t coming up with ideas, it is how to contain the invasion. My ideas are like uninvited guests. They don’t knock on the door; they climb in through the windows like burglars who show up in the middle of the night and make a racket in the kitchen as they raid the fridge. I don’t sit and ponder which one I should deal with first. The one to be wrestled to the floor before all others is the one coming at me with the most vehemence. Werner Herzog: A Guide for the Perplexed — from Brain Pickings

Sundays at Casa Loca are deliciously serene.  The workers on the shrimp farms go to town or to the beach or family gatherings on their day of rest, and the pumping stations (supplying fresh water to the shrimp ponds) stay mute.   Aside from a random car or motorcycle passing on the road, the riverside’s background music comes from the whisperings of birds.

“Yikes! I’m growing feathers!”

The internet signal often works well enough to open emails in the early-morning hours, and most web pages show the text but drop the images.   Comments and emails that I write are often missing in action when I check later to see if they reached their destinations.   Brain Pickings, a once-a-week tonic written by Maria Popova,  arrives on the Day of Rest and delivers an insightful and comforting assortment of reading material that rivals the Sunday edition of one’s favorite newspaper.  Not seeing a Sunday newspaper for a fortnight of years, I look forward to the visual and intellectual tonic that Brain Pickings delivers to my remote location.

(Do I get a prize for breaking two hammers?)  Some of the hardwoods are as hard as concrete!

(Do I get a prize for breaking two hammers?) Some of the hardwoods are like concrete!

The above quote struck a strong chord as I peered into Herzog’s psyche.  He summarized and eloquently nailed how many artists approach their work.  It’s often difficult to explain the creative process to others.   There are times when one of my paintings is going really well, and after a break, I detour in a totally different direction with a new project!  I often create several small paintings while working on a more-challenging one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Those small exercises in spontaneity are like little appetizers that sustain me and provide a little kick of energy to resume the larger work.   “The one to be wrestled to the floor before all others is the one coming at me with the most vehemence.”

While the gate gets a much-larger-than-life eye of protection, a more-serious design evolves on the drawing table.

While the gate gets a much-larger-than-life eye of protection, a more-serious design evolves on the drawing table.

The internet this past week has been slower and less dependable than usual, and I am happy to finish this post from a hotel with much-faster internet. Here are a few of the pending projects that await my attention at home.

These little jewels of mirrors have several destinations.  Some have been added as accents to the driftwood art in the garden...

These little jewels of mirrors have several destinations. Some have been added as accents to the driftwood art in the garden…

The little sliver of bamboo will hold a little flag.. or something interesting... stay tuned!  Can you identify the skull?

The little sliver of bamboo will hold a little flag – or something interesting… stay tuned! Can you identify the skull?

Here's a closer look...

Here’s a closer look…

Guests at Hostal Ciragan will be able to see the room numbers at night!

Guests at Hostal Ciragan will be able to see the room numbers at night!

The watercolor demonstration this past Wednesday showed different ways to build color...

The watercolor demonstration this past Wednesday showed different ways to build color…

Which one of those projects do you think is coming at me with the most vehemence?!

Scan  Brain Pickings archives and you will surely find a topic of interest.  Maria’s Twitter page provides endless food for thought, be sure to scan her most-recent tweets:  Maria Popova BRAINPICKER

Nelly owns a petite restaurant where I teach each Wednesday... Would You like to know what she fed me this past week?

Nelly owns a petite restaurant where I teach each Wednesday… Would You like to know what she fed me this past week?

Not bad for a dollar's worth of bartering!

Not bad for a dollar’s worth of bartering!

The skull, by the way, belongs to this species of bird:

Turkey Vulture

Turkey Vulture

After a brief respite with fast internet, I will return to burro-speed by sunset.  There are mirrors and feathers waiting to be glued, borders to be painted, serious paintings to finish, birds and iguanas to watch – I have zero reasons to ever be bored!

As always, thanks for your amazing support!
Z

