Tags

, , , , ,

timeout P8060338 casa loca mosaics NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK

“Little by little does the trick.” Aesop’s Fables – The Crow and the Pitcher

When traveling, I always yearn to stop when I see roadside stands.  Watching a skilled machete artist whack open a chilled coconut is a bonus for the one-dollar orb that holds nutrient-rich water.

P8210120 coconut afternoon

Sometimes I give a wistful look toward the pottery stands if I am traveling via bus.

rocafuerte pots P1550336

No matter what mode of travel, I ponder how much an item will weigh before I add it to my growing load of loot!  Pottery’s weight makes it hard to justify when using public transportation.  If I take that fateful first step into the pottery scene, a few new pieces will have a new home!

So many choices!

So many choices!

After getting those items home, I never regret the extra burden, although I have moments of self doubt when I’m in transit!

Ten dollars will buy a lot of pottery, but oh,  extra pottery will add a lot to my load!

Ten dollars will buy a lot of pottery, but oh, extra pottery will add a lot to my load!

Sometimes I wonder why road trips exhaust me, and then I ponder the items purchased (ahem – gallons of paint and varnish; quarts of special-colors of paint, plywood, items for the kitchen…) A day after the human burro unloads the parcels, hibernates and incubates a plan for the materials, she’s ready to proceed!  As stated with last week’s post, the difficult part is wading through that invasion of ideas and focusing on one.

Sometimes a dollop of unused acrylic paint prompts me into a ‘seek and find’ mission, and I walk through the house with paintbrush loaded with pigment! Too much black paint prompted the painting of the mask on the door! (Below)  It seemed a waste to wash that black paint down the drain – one learns to be frugal when good acrylic paints are not available in the area.

Painting, painting, always painting!

Painting, painting, always painting!

Sometimes a piece of pottery awaits within reach, and that little dollop of paint finds a new home – yet it creates a little monster.   Not wanting to leave a half-finished area of design, I often mix another batch and then another until I reach a stopping point.

This new batch of painted mosaics now accents the kitchen area.  Filled with fresh produce, they brighten the cooking area.

timeout P8060302 casa loca mosaics new mosaics y if fish could fly

timeout P8060322 casa loca mosaics OLD AND NEW MOSAICS

The larger pieces take more time, though they are worth the ‘little by little’ effort.

timeout P8060378 CASA LOCA KITCHEN mosaics spiral

In progress – shown with painted stool.

timeout P8060375 CASA LOCA KITCHEN mosaics spiral 2

Recently my friends Hank and Marie emailed images of their own mosaic-painting project. I gave them a thumbs-up A-plus critique!

Pottery designs by Hank and Marie Groff - Photo by M. Groff

Pottery designs by Hank and Marie Groff – Photo by M. Groff

Artwork by Hank and Marie Groff - Photo by M. Groff

Artwork by Hank and Marie Groff – Photo by M. Groff

They did a great job!   There’s so much fool-the-eye texture in their work!   I remembered how well my friends Laura and Barbara did on their own pottery-painting projects.

Right-brained mode!

Right-brained mode!

P1510879 laura in right-brained mode

You probably have an old piece of pottery waiting for its chance to shine!  Give it a good scrubbing, draw a simple design with chalk, pull out those hobby paints and get started!

Little by little, you’ll find a medium that gives you joy!

Z

