Tags

, , , , ,

Oswaldo Guayasamin Sculpture - Overlooking Quito Ecuador

Oswaldo Guayasamin Sculpture – Overlooking Quito Ecuador

Guayasamin Bird-Sculpture

Guayasamin Bird-Sculpture

“Genius is not a possession of the limited few, but exists in some degree in everyone…

…To be an artist is to construct, and to whatever degree one shows the genius for construction in work of any sort, he is that much an artist.” –  Robert Henri – The Art Spirit

With slow and deliberate patience, this lady displayed each bag with loving attention to its best presentation.

With slow and deliberate patience, this lady displayed each bag with loving attention to its best presentation.

“…I think the real artists are too busy with just being and growing and acting (on canvas or however) like themselves to worry about the end.  The end will be what it will be.  The object is intense living, fulfillment; the great happiness in creation.  People sometimes phrase about the joy of work.  It is only  in creative work that joy may be found.  

… the object is not to make art, but to be in the wonderful state which makes art inevitable.  

 The artist life is therefore the desirable life, and it is possible to all.”

  Robert Henri  – The Art Spirit

Waiting on the 11 p.m. bus (left) and a hurried sketch in the Guayasamin Museum private collection of pre-Columbian art.

Waiting on the 11 p.m. bus (left) and a hurried sketch in the Guayasamin Museum private collection of pre-Columbian art.

The past few weeks have found me on the road with tour groups and with friends.  While embracing each moment, I have also dedicated time for sketching.

Friends have nudged me into a skull/bone series, and now cow skulls seem to wave to me most anywhere I travel!

Friends have nudged me into a skull/bone series, and now cow skulls seem to wave to me most anywhere I travel!

Robert Henri’s words resonate when I reflect on the interactions between strangers – how chance interactions open the doors to rich experiences.  I treasure my time alone when I can focus 100 percent on creating art, yet opportunities for cultural exchange inject amazing energy into my life.

Many times I stop and quietly ask, “What is your name?” and the person reflexively slaps his/her chest and replies, “Me?”

“Yes.  You,” I smile, and they immediately stand a bit prouder and hurriedly rattle their entire name.

Jose , with cataract-clouded eyes, appreciates  the chance to boast his age;  92.  He smiles, yet yearns for interaction with others.   "Hola," makes him proud to alive.

Jose, with cataract-clouded eyes, appreciates the chance to boast his age; 92. He smiles as tourists walk past his house at the Bahia de Caraquez lookout, yet he yearns for interaction with others. “Hola,” makes him proud to be alive.

Many times a tourist forgets that the experience is not all about being a tourist, but about slowing down and telling a local what’s great about his/her community.

This gentleman has taken photos at the same park location in Quito for over 70 years.  At age 90, he says that he has never been sick or in the hospital.

This gentleman has taken photos at the same park location in Quito for over 70 years. At age 90, he says that he has never been sick or in the hospital.

Traveling opens that wonderful state of being that Henri mentions.  From the flower markets throughout the country to the pastoral landscapes of the Andes, one’s day is enriched by slowing down and appreciating the local color.

Quito Flower Market

Quito Flower Market

Volunteer Quinoa in Cho-cho field - near Lago San Pablo/Otavalo

Volunteer Quinoa in Cho-cho field – near Lago San Pablo/Otavalo

Near Otavalo Ecuador

Near Otavalo Ecuador

How can one not be inspired by unexpected views like this?!

How can one not be inspired by unexpected moments like this?!

And he smiled a genuine heart-warming smile!

What a genuine heart-warming smile!

The landscape and cultural experiences trump the internet, so for another week I will continue to be quite silent.  Late at night I am too tired to work on photos or art, so I sleep, recharge my batteries (computer, camera and my own!) and step into new experiences with each day.

I stepped into the store to buy blank paper....

I stepped into the store to buy blank paper….

...I left with heart-felt memories from a new friend, Yolanda...

…I left with heart-felt memories from meeting a new friend, Yolanda…

As Henri stated, “…the object is not to make art, but to be in the wonderful state which makes art inevitable.”     

I am definitely in that wonderful state and look forward to sharing more with you soon.  Thanks for your support, even when I go totally silent.

Lechero - Sacred Site on man-made hill overlooking Lago San Pablo.

Lechero – Sacred Site -tree- on man-made hill overlooking Lago San Pablo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from “Lechero” of Lago San Pedro and Volcano Imbabura…

 

A double rainbow that suggests where to find the hidden gold... but the true gold is in our hearts.

A double rainbow suggests where to find the hidden gold… but the true gold is in our hearts.

Z

 

