Tags

, , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quite talented and perpetually happy, Miguel upgraded my choice of a petite five-dollar rain stick to a much larger one! He also had some amazing pre-Columbian artifacts.

Ecuador – Lately I’ve been home just long enough to say, “Ahhh,” before leaving on another journey.  This week I’ve been incubating at the Riverhouse/Casa Loca but have been totally off the grid, great for my creative focus.  An ill-tempered scorpion also set me back for a few days, but I’ve recovered and am proud to send a smoke signal that all’s great in Z’s world.

These beautiful faces have been in limbo since before Thanksgiving, so with a hiccup of on-line time, I’d like to introduce you to some of the beautiful people of Otavalo Ecuador.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She offers some tempting food options!  Anyone who shies away from street-market cuisine has never tasted smoked tilapia straight from the grill!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I declined the soup course, but invited this lady, who accepted the soup!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lovely, graceful women!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is what Life is about!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Noble, surely she is a wise woman?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Me thinks she might have a bit of an artist’s spirit!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rugs anyone?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I often wonder what they say to each other when they get home at the end of a long day at the market!

Miguel might mention the gringita that admired his work!

Miguel might mention the gringita that admired his work!

Does that really play music?!

He might tell how the gringita asked, “Does that really play music?!” and he played it until he turned blue in the face!

The young equestrian!

The young equestrian!

The Otavalo Market awakens the senses!

The Otavalo Market awakens the senses!

Lucky for me that Julie asked me to look for alpaca yarn.  Isn't she lovely?

Lucky for me that Julie asked me to look for alpaca yarn. Isn’t she lovely?

Candid Moments...

Candid Moments…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sometimes a person’s character shouts from across the street. Stepping closer, I admired his carvings on palm branches and paintings on bones.

A painter and sculptor...

A painter and sculptor, and yes, I bought one of his little carvings!

Admire and learn from two WordPress friends;  Otto coaches us on street photography, and Ron presents a stunning showcase of street portraits:
Otto Munchow : (The Workshop Experience)

Ron Mayhew (A Brief Moment – Portraits)

Happy Holidays, Everyone!  Z

