Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Bus Ride to Quito - ZZZZZZZZ - dawn awakens!

Bus Ride to Quito – ZZZZZZZZ – dawn awakens!

Last month a large landslide blocked the normal route between Quito and the hub city of Santo Domingo.  The bus detour adds about three hours to the ‘normal’ 7-hour ride between Quito and Jama where I live.   After an overnight stop in Santo Domingo, I reached the Pacific Coast late yesterday and happily checked in to Hostal Ciragan.  I all but collapsed with ‘bus fatigue.’

The Crazy Hubbub of Santo Domingo de los Colorados

The Crazy Hubbub of Santo Domingo de los Colorados

The Jama streets held puddles (lagoons?) of water at every corner, and I was pleased to know that I did not have to race home to water a thirsty garden.  Tapping into a healthy internet system was a second bonus for spending the evening in town.   I remembered what my Colorado friends had mentioned; its nice to get caught in a rain shower and not get cold!   After a few hours’ rest, I tipped out on the almost-deserted streets and enjoyed a quiet visit with my friends at Palo Santo Cafe.  No, I did not get cold; in fact, I jogged there and back and did not get sweaty either!  (My cough is much better!)

Jama is usually a quiet town...

Jama is usually a quiet town…

This morning the soft sound of drizzle nudged me to ‘stay put,’ for which I was grateful; not long after a strong shower pounded the roof.   I enjoyed reading posts I’ve missed, and caught one treasure: Bob Ramsak posted a summary of a food ‘Event’ we attended last month in Quito.

Tasting Organic Chocolate and Absinthe on a Friday Night in Quito: an Expo Alimentar 2015 Notebook

And to answer your question, “No;  I declined the complimentary sample of absinthe – I was not well during that period, and I was also adjusting to Quito’s altitude of over 9,000-feet!”  I did enjoy the chocolates and was totally captivated by the “Miracle Berry.”  I agree with Bob – it’s a lazy name for such an incredible and unique culinary sleeper.

Bob, you covered this event so much better than I could have;  you raise the bar on responsible reporting and have taught me a lot.  Thanks!

Quinoa: lovely for the eyes, healthy for the body!

Quinoa: lovely for the eyes, healthy for the body!

Next I’ll nudge you to a thread of conversation between Steve Schwartzman and me;  Steve’s photo of the “best-known wildflower in Texas” (the bluebonnet) set off a dialog that morphed from bluebonnets to lupines to ‘chochos’ to lima beans to butter peas to  “..Phaseolus lunatus is of Andean and Mesoamerican origin. ..” and finally to a very exotic fruit,  Arazá  (Eugenia_stipitata) that is found in random gardens in Ecuador….  Quinoa was also part of that conversation!  Here’s the thread if you’re interested in botanical trivia. BEST KNOWN WILDFLOWER IN TEXAS.

Mature quinoa with a few lupine (Chocho) flowers... (Near Otavalo Ecuador)

Mature quinoa with a few lupine (chocho) flowers (extreme lower left)… (Near Otavalo Ecuador)

If you’ve not visited Portraits of Wildflowers, you’re missing a daily treat of up-close-and-personal portraits of wildflowers in Texas and other areas Steve visits.  Check out his Spanish-English Word Connection site as well; here’s a start: Quinqui .

The rains have passed, and it’s time I get rolling!   Rio Jama will surely be muddy, and it’s time to go home and say, “Hello” to the birds!

Friends Natalia and Nicolas watch Rio Jama-Brava;  May 2013....

Friends Natalia and Nicolas watch Rio Jama-Brava; May 2013….

I’m still working on wedding photos, and I’m about to return to slllllllllow Claro internet!  More soon!  Z

