Tags

, ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Detail- Watercolor – Museo Bahia de Caraquez artifact…


There are three things to consider when talking about the fine arts. There is the object itself, say, the painting in the gallery. Next, there is the spectator who is gazing at the painting with varying degrees of attention. And finally there is the interaction between the two — which some insist is the actual “work of art.”

Hugh Curtler/Daily Gadfly-The Eye of the Beholder

Bahia de Caraquez-Ecuador –
This week’s quote came from one of Hugh’s recent posts. I’d like to hear your feedback after reading his post, though Ron Mayhew published a few images that same week that confirm Hugh’s observations. See Ron’s: At The Museum Looking At Art Distracted  (Ron, I’ve been unable to comment, but suffice to know that I enjoyed the photos!)

Museo Bahia de Caraquez down below along Rio Chone...

Museo Bahia de Caraquez down below along Rio Chone…

This finds me writing from Museo Bahia de Caraquez (Ecuador) where I’ve been staying and working on watercolor studies of artifacts this week.   It’s great to work during the public-viewing hours, but it’s blissful when working after hours!  I’m sobered by the staff’s trust in my presence here as I meander between my favorite pieces, settle in and merge psyches with the ancient artifacts!

There are lots of heart-warming stories from my time here at the museum, but it’s time to go to work!  I’ll leave you with a thumbnail sheet of the progress.

BAHIA DE CARAQUEZ watercolors THUMBNAIL 01

Have a good day, and see you again soon with stories and more images!  Z

