Tags

, ,

The ripples in the water nudged me out for an early trek.

The ripples in the water nudged me out for an early trek.

“The morning, which is the most memorable season of the day, is the awakening hour. Then there is least somnolence in us; and for an hour, at least, some part of us awakes which slumbers all the rest of the day and night… ” Henry David Thoreau

Fringe benefits of watching over my friends' property until it sells! Just wait for today's story - grab a cup of coffee or tea and come join me!

Fringe benefits of watching over my friends’ property until it sells! I look forward to sharing today’s story – grab a cup of coffee or tea and come join me!

(Mindo Ecuador) – The expectations of the morning always nudge me from sleep quite early. Some mornings a sharp “thud” announces that a bird has slammed into the window, and I dash to look for the victim. Other mornings I slowly awaken and peer from the windows as if to expect Jack Frost to be visiting the tropics! Then there are mornings when I sit on the porch and watch the hummingbirds fight for dominance over the feeders. Their first drink of the day is as important as that first cup of coffee is to many people!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What’s there?

This past Wednesday, I noted the ripples in the pond and assumed there were fish feeding on insects. Having seen the ripples for several mornings, I put on my outdoor gear and took a dawn walk to the pond. Yes, fish were feeding on the surface, and I chuckled as they spotted me and scampered for cover beneath the vegetation!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looks like a Monet painting…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Young strangler!

I admired the vegetation on the old footbridge and wondered if it should be removed/transplanted to the plant rescue garden. The strangler would surely overtake the bridge one day, but perhaps that’s a decision that the next owner should make!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wanting to check the route around the upper end of the pond, I decided to go pick a few lemon mandarinas. Ten minutes later as I inspected various plants, a large raptor soared overhead. “Wow! that wasn’t the laughing falcon!”

Let’s hurry down the trail and see if it’s still there!

Barbara helped clear this area! Still looking good, BB!

Barbara helped clear this area! Still looking good, BB!

This old dead tree hosts a wealth of species!

This old dead tree hosts a wealth of species!

This waxy flower has been in this stage for weeks. Another part of this plant now lives in the plant rescue garden.

This waxy flower has been in this stage for weeks. Another part of this plant now lives in the plant rescue garden.

Another secret passage!

Another secret passage!

Sweet wilflowers.

Sweet wilflowers.

Way over there is a limon mandarina tree!

Way over there is a limon mandarina tree!

Just when I was about to pick lemons...

Just when I was about to pick lemons…

Oops! In my haste to change lenses, I caugh a colorful stranger looking over myh shoulder!!!

Oops! In my haste to change lenses, I caugh a colorful stranger looking over my shoulder!!!

Shhhhh.  Be very quiet and look up in that old bromeliad-filled tree!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All of this before 7 in the morning!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I continued to take photos as I returned to the house. Once the osprey was in pure morning light, it was difficult to photograph.

From the front of the house...

From the front of the house…

Ah, but I could trek up the hill behind the house and hope for a very close shot from a much-higher vantage point!

 

"This uphill trek had better be worth it!"

“This uphill trek had better be worth it!”

A little nibble for breakfast?

A little nibble for breakfast?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bingo!

 

… and to think what I would have missed if I’d stayed in bed a while longer!

Z

