Tags

, , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This photo freezes a display of stunning light and shadows last year at Canoa Beach Hotel. (Ecuador)

Todays assortment of images reflect my response to Otto Munchow’s post, “Let the Sun In.”       A gifted photographer and teacher, Otto stated, “Light is one of the most important factors that influence the quality of a photo.”  He followed with, “There is no such thing as bad light, only suitable or not suitable light for whatever you are trying to express. ”  His post offers pointers for photographing in the harsh mid-day light.

 

View from the dining room...

View from the dining room… 10 a.m. light…

This plant hitched a ride to the public road via a large limb that fell.  After watching it for several weeks, I decided that the road graders would one day consume it, so with no guilt, I transplanted it to a space where it would be treasured.

This bromeliad hitched a ride to the edge of a public gravel road via a large limb that fell to the ground. After watching it for several weeks, I decided that the road graders would one day consume it, so with no guilt, I transplanted it to a space where it would be treasured.  Several of its canopy mates joined it – friends for life!

As I read his post, I thought of the ‘Plant Rescue Garden’ (pictured above) at my friends’ property in the cloud forest near Mindo.  During certain hours, the sun stretches its fingers into the deep shadowed area and showcases several of the plants.  The light is very dramatic, and I almost always reach for my camera and try to capture what makes it so special.  Just how many photos does one need of the happily-transplanted bromeliads, begonias and orchids?  For me, they serve as reference photos for those rainy days when I’m housebound and looking for inspiration for paintings.

A begonia lived on the tracks of an old excavator that was about to roll for the first time in years.

A begonia lived on the tracks of an old excavator that was about to roll for the first time in years.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another section of transplants at the other house.

This torch ginger offers stunning color against the dark background.

This torch ginger offers stunning color against the dark background.

When back at my main computer, I will look for photos taken around noon; until then, here are more photos that were inspired by dramatic light during other times of the day.

An expat tour settled into the informal restaurant area of Canoa Beach Hotel, and the late afternoon sun cast dramatic shadows on the group. Some were quite comfortable when I stated, "Oh! The sun! The light! The shadows! Please, hold that pose!"

An expat tour settled into the informal restaurant area of Canoa Beach Hotel, and the late afternoon sun cast dramatic shadows on the group. Some of the guests were quite comfortable when I stated, “Oh! The sun! The light! The shadows! Please, may I – would you, please,  hold that pose!”

Sitting with one group of guests, I noted these just-served glasses and again bolted and asked, "May I please photograph your drinks?"

Sitting with one group of guests, I noted these just-served glasses across the courtyard; I dashed to their table and asked, “May I please photograph your drinks?”

While visiting with a friend before harvesting a shrimp pond, I noted a surreal effect from the late-afternoon sun. I often wish I could step into the image and paddle across the pond in the canoe!

While visiting with a friend waiting to harvest a shrimp pond, I noted a surreal effect from the late-afternoon sun. I often wish I could step into this image and paddle across the pond in the canoe! It reminds me of David Gray’s “Last Boat to America.” (Make me a boat – away I’ll float – into the stillness of the clear blue sky…)

There's a funny finale to this shadow story...

There’s a funny finale to this shadow story…

I noted the motorcycle shadows as I passed the closed Palo Santo Cafe.   Half a block later, I backtracked and returned to photograph the shadows.  That night while sitting at the cafe, the owner’s brother came in and said, “Leee-sah!  I have something to show you!”   Fernando turned on his phone and showed me a photo he took of me photographing the shadows!  Of course, I turned on my camera and showed him the images!

Ha!

Ha!  Of course I photographed the post that Luchy painted in early July.  For a history of the painted posts, start here:It Started with One Light Pole

Even in the dark, this post is stunning! I tell Luchy most every time I see him, "I love that mosaic post!" He is so talented!

Even in the dark, this painted post is stunning! I tell Luchy most every time I see him, “I love that mosaic post!” He is so talented!

 

Enjoy Otto’s pointers about light here: Let the Sun In.  then scroll back thru his posts for his recent updates on his recent visit to Cuba.

With so much sadness tainting our world, and with cold weather advancing in many areas, here’s Sheryl Crow showcasing the sun:

(I don’t miss below-freezing temperatures, Black Friday and the shopping frenzies of December!)  Pardon me while I step back into the sunlight!

Good Morning, Sunshine!

Ahhhh;  Good Morning, Sunshine! 

Embrace the day and keep your eye on the light and shadows!  Z

 

 

