Tags

, , ,

Between Rains

Between Rains

(Mindo Ecuador) – The rainy season has definitely returned here in the cloud forest, and the rain guage has ‘caught’ at least 20 inches of rain since the new year began! The rains continue to purge the normally-tranquil Rio Cinto, that has lost its temper twice and roared as it passed (in its bounds) through the valley.

This past Sunday/Sunday night - I suspected there would be minor landslides, and I was right!

This past Sunday/Sunday night the Rio Cinto roared like the ocean, and I suspected there would be minor landslides in the area.  I was right!

Monday morning brought clear skies, yet theh road was eerily silent/void of traffic. While inspecting Rio Cinto, I met this one neighbor who was also inspecting the changes.

Monday morning brought clear skies, yet the road was eerily silent/void of traffic. While inspecting Rio Cinto, I met this one neighbor who was also inspecting the changes.

With two workers waiting for me to retrieve them at 8 sharp, i drove until this new roadblock changed my mind!

With two workers waiting for me to retrieve them at 8 sharp, I drove until this new roadblock changed my mind!

On Tuesday the sound of traffic returned, and I drove to town with no problems. A very large landslide had been cleared, and the municipality deserves recognition for their prompt action.  I did not take my hands off the wheel in order to photograph the mud and muck!

Rio Cinto stayed angry for several days...

Rio Cinto stayed angry for several days…

Between rains, the days are beautiful and the mornings often seem as if rain is the least-expected item on the day’s menu. By noon or one, the clouds return, and light showers prompt a change in plans.

My friend Cynthia invited me to participate in a guided tour of a private reserve, where we learned about the local plants and their medicinal uses. (Gilberto, our guide in the photo)

My friend Cynthia invited me to participate in a guided tour of a private reserve, where we learned about the local plants and their medicinal uses. (Gilberto, our guide in the photo)

 

To me, there is nothing common about this 'common potoo.'

To me, there is nothing common about this ‘common potoo,’ which Gilberto showed us within the first five minutes of entering the reserve!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We also admired a pond of water lilies.

We also admired a pond of water lilies.

Two brothers are helping with outdoor tasks on the property/ https://https//alittlebluebirdtoldme.wordpress.com.  It’s been an interesting few weeks as we exchange ideas, and they adapt to working not only with a woman as their boss, but also with an untra-sensitive ARTIST that cautions, “Please don’t cut this…  or this…  or amputate a limb or —-”  They are learning a bit of English, and I am learning more Spanish.

The locals call the grass, "Pasto Miel" but I call it "Pasto Vinegar." There is nothing sweet about this invasive grass that is rightfully called "Elephant Grass" in other parts of the world! (Pictured, Diego, who is working to save money to attend art school in Austria in June!)

The locals call the grass, “Pasto Miel” but I call it “Pasto Vinegar.” There is nothing sweet about this invasive grass that is rightfully called “Elephant Grass” in other parts of the world! (Pictured, Diego, who is working to save money to attend art school in Austria in June!  This photo was taken along the public road near Rio Cinto.)

Sometimes there are accidental mishaps, and the plants (pictured: bromeliad) are transferred to the ever-expanding Plant Rescue Garden.

Sometimes there are accidental mishaps, and the plants (pictured: bromeliad) are transferred to the ever-expanding Plant Rescue Garden.

When they helped clear limbs that fell over/into a clear spring, I worked elsewhere so that they could do their job and do it well without my concern for the little plants!

All is going well, and there will be photos of the trails soon, camera willing. It’s great with closeups, yet requires creative manipulations to capture most of the work areas.

The camera captured the landscape and waterfall with ease!

(From the public road) – The camera captured the landscape and waterfall with ease!

Between rains, it's always great to have such precious distractions!

Between rains, it’s always great to have such precious distractions!

May the weekend go well for all. Z

May the weekend go well for all.   Until next time online, Z

