Relief Donations - from Mindo to the Earthquake Victims...

Relief Donations – from Mindo to the Earthquake Victims…

Thank you all for your comments and emails.  You are so kind, and your notes of concern and empathy have touched my heart.  For some reason, most of the emails bounce back as entirely-blank compose pages. I hope that these updates reach most of those who so graciously inquired about my safety and of those who live in Manabi Province, where over the years I’ve posted many stories from Casa Loca.

Nicolas, standing in window seat, first dubbed the name when he exclaimed,  "Esta Casa Es Loca!"

Nicolas, standing in window seat, first dubbed the name when he exclaimed, “Esta Casa Es Loca!”

There is still no news from my friends fromJama, Canoa, Bahia de Caraquez –  and Casa Loca is low on my list of concerns. I wish I could command that Magic Carpet to come get me so I could comfort and help those that I love.  Has anyone heard from John and Mary in San Clemente?  Gonzalo, how are you and your family in Manta/Montechristi?

Bob, of Piran Cafe, provided an update on Jama. Thanks, Bob, the photos made me cry. They also help to understand how/why reaching Jama is an impossible task. PiranCafe:Images from Jama.

Another friend sent a link from CNN…
From CNN
Here are more images of the relief effort from Mindo:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Iliana, (in white shirt and black leggings) and family/friends dashed to inquire, “Lisa! Jama?” …………I looked at them and shrugged, “I don’t know.. I need to get online and find out what’s happened.” Iliana often hosts me at Hostal Charrito when I stay in town.

 

(Silvana, thank you again for the updates, which were shared on the previous post.  I am glad that your family is ok, though I am sure you’re worried about all of your loves ones in Manabi Province.  If we can get the Magic Carpet to soar out of Casa Loca, I’ll come get you before returning to the coastal area.)

If wishes were magic carpets, we would fly!

If wishes were magic carpets, we would fly!

Most of you have faster internet and can probably glean more information than I, so I will close and return to the pristine setting of my friends’ property. Weather, roads and electricity willing, I will return on Wednesday.

I wish I could provide some good news, but for now, it looks pretty bleak.

Love, Lisa

