Tags

, ,

Mother and Daughter, Helene y Lise - I Can Do This! in Costa Rica - 2012

Mother and Daughter, Helene y Lise – I Can Do This! in Costa Rica – 2012

Heart-warming news arrives as through angel couriers, and today two messages arrived from Helene, a dear friend from France.   She wears big shoes at CNES (France’s equal to NASA) and shared some info that touched me greatly.

I asked for permission to share her message, which was:

“Just to inform you that earth observation satellites are being used at present time for helping rescue teams in Ecuador.
People from my team work on it and I thought you would be interested.
See the international charter disasters Web site with latest activations panama and Ecuador …..”

https://www.disasterscharter.org

Helene also said, ” Do not hesitate to show that all spatial agencies around the world (including of course NASA, CNES (French), DLR (German), ESA (European) and 12 other space agencies…) are working together (in best effort way, with no exchange of money !) in order to help rescue teams.”

Dear, dear Helene!  Thank you so much, and I am sure that many others will enjoy knowing there are many other space agencies working in our behalf.  Thank you so much!

 

.

2013 - John and Mary and I worked on a painting while taking a mini holiday in Canoa.

2013 – John and Mary and I worked on a painting while taking a mini holiday in Canoa.

Good news from Esthela Déleg, who relayed a message from John and Mary McDonald via her family.   She said, “John said “Thank you, Lisa, for worrying about us. We’re fine, but we have no way to communicate”.

She says that Nancy Levin is OK as well.

…………..

Barbara told me that she saw a fallen post in a recent earthquake photo...

(Jama) -Barbara told me that she saw a fallen post in a recent earthquake photo…

Jama  - April 2015

Jama – April 2015

Every Sunday, Sara  at Zero Latitude Living publishes an amazing summary of recently-published articles about Ecuador. She has also worked on earthquake relief teams, so I am not surprised that she published a special earthquake edition. Start Here:
http://zerolatliving.com

There’s a wealth of information there – Thanks, Sara!

Jody, Bobby and I dined with Cynthia when she lived at Playa El Matal.

Jody, Bobby and I dined with Cynthia when she lived at Playa El Matal.

Jody, a dear friend who is not presently in Jama/El Matal, has helped keep others informed about what’s happening in Jama.  Her husband Bobby  and others have traveled on brutal roads to reach Pedernales, which is in bad shape, and hopefully he’s reached Jama by now.     Here are a few links  that Jody shared:
http://www.andes.info.ec/es/noticias/jama-destino-turistico-ecuador-incomunicado-devastado-terremoto-78-grados-magnitud.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+andes+%28Agencia+Pública+de+Noticias+del+Ecuador+y+Suramérica%29

http://www.andes.info.ec/es/noticias/jama-destino-turistico-ecuador-incomunicado-devastado-terremoto-78-grados-magnitud.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+andes+%28Agencia+Pública+de+Noticias+del+Ecuador+y+Suramérica%29
http://www.elcomercio.com/actualidad/terremoto-jama-matal-agua-comida.html
Thank you, dear Jody.

Jody in foreground, in Jama's 'Wear White for Peace" - Sept 2013

Jody in foreground, in Jama’s ‘Wear White for Peace” – Sept 2013

I will close with a short tribute to a friend who died in the Jama earthquake.   Chana’s tienda was almost always my first stop when I went to town, and I circled around  to say, “Goodbye” on my way back out of town.   My heart goes out to her husband Arturo and the family.

Chana in her little store/ Dec 2012

Chana in her little store/ Dec 2012

P1410571 ano viejo chana window

It is doubtful I can be of any help to those on the coast, so I plan to focus on tasks at my friends’ property at Rio Cinto/Mindo.  Most likely I’ll be offline until Monday.    Stay well and safe, everyone, and thank you for your amazing support, not only for me but for the entire country of Ecuador.

Remember there are angels watching over us, even when we don’t know it!   Thanks again, Helene.

Helene y Lise  in Costa Rica 2012

Helene y Lise in Costa Rica 2012

