Tags

, ,

There’s an awkward feeling while I tend to my friends’ property near Mindo Ecuador while I think about the people not too far away on the coast as they try to pick up the pieces of their lives and move forward. I worry about their drinking water and a fresh supply of food and of a dry place to sleep at night – and mosquito-free as well. I think about the children, and how they must tremble when another after shock rolls thru the earth. I drink in the visual beauty that surrounds me as my heart aches for those that I love. I wish I could offer comfort and give them silent strength just by being near. The birds seem to be more abundant, or perhaps my focus is more intense on noticing my surroundings and not taking them for granted.

What follows are a few favorites of the 110 birds I’ve spotted on the property. How I wish I could send some of that beauty to help ease their pain.

Scaled Fruiteater?

Scaled Fruiteater?  A first for me, and it flitted from branch to branch a few feet away from where I stood-froze and admired its unique patterns of color.

White-throated Crake

White-throated Crake — There were two foraging in the mid-morning sunlight..

Strong-billed Woodcreeper

Strong-billed Woodcreeper – a lovely bird!

Beryl-spangled Tanager

The Beryl-spangled Tanager sports unique colors and patterns!

Pygmy Tyrant - This bird paused briefly only a few feet away from where I was working!   Seconds later it flew away.

Pygmy Tyrant – This bird paused briefly only a few feet away from where I was working! Seconds later it flew away.

Not sure on this one...

Not sure on this one…

The clouds turn on their sprinklers throughout the day, and the rain seems to trigger more feeding activiity.   The next ones,  photographed against bright skies with sprinkles, are not too clear, but a poor image helps me with identification.

Flame-faced tanager

Flame-faced tanager

Golden Tanager

Golden Tanager

Most of these birds stay very near the house that overlooks the pond.

Most of these birds stay very near the house that overlooks the pond.

In front of the house is a trail that goes all the way around the pond.  There are surprises daily!

In front of the house is a trail that goes all the way around the pond. There are surprises daily!

The distant landscape bears its scars from the rainy season.

The distant landscape bears its scars from the rainy season.

Garbed in coordinating colors to match the foliage, the following resident hopes that you might find beauty in your surroundings this week.

Crimson-rumped Toucanet

Crimson-rumped Toucanet

Linda over at The Task at Hand wove a beautiful story, Rising, Falling and Rising Again.  Put aside your present reading material and enjoy her mastery of words and the art of telling a good story.   Hers aren’t just happy little stories; they have depth and soul.  Thanks, Linda, and thanks also for including the link to the Jama earthquake video..

 

Have a good week, everyone.   Z