Tags

, , ,

grayscalejama P1560271 lima bean smiles

No thanks, I think I will shell my own!

No thanks, I think I will shell my own!

Jama/Manabi/Ecuador

Catfish, lima beans, watermelon and fresh tomatoes; I often tell my friends that life in Ecuador reminds me of my childhood in the Mississippi Delta.   As I walked through the farm town of Jama this past weekend, I pondered the differences.

Both countries have crape myrtle trees, but Ecuador also has a close cousin, the guava tree.

Guayava tree - (Guava)

Guayava tree – (Guava)

Mississippi has blackberries; Ecuador has mora.

Mora

Mora

We have catfish in Mississippi, and we have catfish in Ecuador! Although there are no catfish ponds here on the equator, we have many shrimp ponds!

RIVERHOUSE cameronera jaw-dropping view

How Many Shades Of Green?

How Many Shades Of Green?

A small salt-water catfish.  Is it a keeper?

A small salt-water catfish. Is it a keeper?

OK.  I'm not in Mississippi anymore!

OK. I’m not in Mississippi anymore!

This man whistles as he rides through town with his catch of the day.

This man whistles as he rides through town with his catch of the day.

Time slows down in rural Ecuador, and one learns to savor each moment.  Seeing old fashioned scales takes me back to times when my sister Pat and I picked cotton by hand after school to earn ‘Christmas money.” In Ecuador, the scales are used for weighing cheese, shrimp, fish and staples for the kitchen.  (And cotton is grown here as well!)

P1490984 cheese day scales grayscale

“Cheese Day”

The buyer and the seller record the figures in separate journals then compare their grand totals.

The buyer and the seller record the figures in separate journals then compare their grand totals.

Shrimp harvest - buyer and seller keep separate records.

Shrimp harvest – buyer and seller keep separate records.

Dried beans, rice, flour and other staples are often scooped from a bulk container and weighed on the old-fashioned scales.

Dried beans, rice, flour and other staples are often scooped from bulk containers and weighed on the old-fashioned scales.

Chickens are universal!

What a Gallo!  (Rooster)

What a Gallo! (Rooster)

Look who's hiding beneath the table!

Look who’s hiding beneath the table!

What?  A turkey?  Yes, turkeys are prized birds in Latin America!

What? A turkey? Yes, turkeys are prized birds in Latin America!

P1630241 punta prieta blue house and chickens greta

…Yes, chickens are universal, as are swings!

P1640914 one swing P1720574 surprise visitors in swing

Many of the vegetables grown in Ecuador also grow in the Deep South/Mississippi.

P1710780 barbed wire lima beans house on hill farm

I never connected Lima beans with “Peru” until I saw the legumes here in Ecuador!

Shelling beans and passing time - just like those syrupy days of my youth!

Shelling beans and passing time – just like those syrupy days of my youth!

Break time behind the scenes at the vegetable stand.

Break time behind the scenes at the vegetable stand.

At ten cents each, the peppers  add little to my financial or physical load!

At ten cents each, the peppers add little to my financial or physical load!

Watermelons weight much more, but the price is always fair.

Watermelons weigh much more, but the price is always fair.

P1690889 jama sandia watermelon bicycles

There’s always a chance to buy ‘just enough.’

I rarely see Halloween-type pumpkins in Ecuador, but there are beautiful alternatives like winter squash.

Pumpkin  Orange!

Pumpkin Orange!

Road-side Market

Fall-like colors brighten the sidewalk market.

Fall-like colors brighten the sidewalk market.

Maria and family enjoy practicing counting in English!

Maria and family enjoy practicing counting in English!

Horses and mules were a big part of my early years on the farm, but Ecuador introduced me to the comical burros!   The equine world is strong in the province of Manabi, and most every day I see someone riding a horse or a mule or a burro!

cruzita bus y burro P1550339 cropped

Cabalgata in San Vicente Ecuador

Cabalgata in San Vicente Ecuador

P1720257 mule saddle y silvana

Silvana introduce Bob and me to the little village of Amacora. (Ecuador)

STA TERESA P1490805 TYPICAL HOUSES

Visiting remote farming villages is like turning back the pages of time. (Santa Teresa Ecuador)

P1430692 MULE BURRO grayscale horses jama mule P1330557 grayscale

P1430700 MULE grayscale

jama horses y mules

jama horses y muleP1330553

STA TERESA P1490819

My friend Xavier drives an hour each Friday to pick up the cheese in the little village of Santa Teresa.

sta teresa P1490838

The horses bring the crates of cheese into Santa Teresa.

STA TERESA QUESO BOXES P1490813These images illustrate a basic-yet satisfying lifestyle that reminds me of a vanishing culture where I grew up in Mississippi.   Thank you,  WordPress, for the Weekly theme of Nostalgic

Xavier at another area of the cattle headquarters.

Xavier at another area of the cattle headquarters.

boots grayscalemanabi farm the best boots

Brothers Cesar and Xavier overseeing the corn.

Brothers Cesar and Xavier overseeing the corn.

Harvesting Corn - Jama Ecuador

Harvesting Corn – Jama Ecuador

P1780515 CORN UPRIVER JAMA P1780473 GREAT OLD HOUSE UPRIVER FROM JAMA

Do children still play with marbles in the USA? They certainly entertain themselves easily here in Ecuador!
P1730201 ninos playing marbles bahia cross

P1730204 ninos marbles bahia cruz

P1730202 boys playing marbles bahia cruz

P1730200 bahia ninos playing marbles near cross cruz

Remember When?

Remember When?

Yes, I remember when, and I am blessed to experience it a second time!

Have a good week, everyone!

Have a good week, everyone!

Z