Tags

, ,

Jorge Luis Yllescas Arixaga - Guayaquil Ecuador

Jorge Luis Yllescas Arixaga – Guayaquil Ecuador

“Creativity is essentially a lonely art. An even lonelier struggle. To some a blessing. To others a curse. It is in reality the ability to reach inside yourself and drag forth from your very soul an idea.” ~Lou Dorfsman

I traveled to Guayaquil this past Sunday, a day before an Ecuador Expat Journey tour began.  My afternoon was a free one, and I dropped by the Museo Nahim Isaias in hopes there might be an interesting art exhibit.  I was not disappointed.

Museo Nahim Isaias

Museo Nahim Isaias

Located in the Plaza de Administración near Guayaquil’s Malecon 2000, The Museo Nahim Isaias showcases the work of many artists.  This week, after touring a collection of Ila Coronal’s sensitive photographs of rural life,  I spotted two brightly-colored paintings in another area of the museum.  Stepping toward the strong colors, I noted someone sitting to the side with polite attention.

Jorge Luis Yllescas Arrixaga  (Guayaquil, Ecuador)

Jorge Luis Yllescas Arrixaga (Guayaquil, Ecuador)

“I wonder if that’s the artist,” I pondered, and he stood up and approached with sensitive respect.

“Are you the artist?” I smiled as I recalled Jacqueline Simon telling me that I was the first artist who had ever stayed for the entire length of the exhibit at Museum Cancebi.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Acrylics on layers of glass (One on right: Sold)

“Yes,” he smiled, and for the next hour we talked about art as he accompanied me from painting to painting…    I then met the director of the museum, Alexander Maldonado, and the three of us discussed museum stories – even a few about ghost sightings by museum guards!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

JL’s paintings reflect masterly control of color, especially without creating ‘mud’ where those colors meet!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jose Luis lived in Boston and New York and has spent a lifetime immersed in the world of art.  He now lives near the Nahim Isaias museum, so there’s a good chance he will be there when you drop by.  If your Spanish  skills are limited, don’t fear, because J.L speaks great English!

Visit soon, because the exhibit, which opened in December, will be finished at the end of February.

Z