Tags

, , , , , ,

A hummingbird would compliment the heliconia/ginger/angels trumpet painting!

A hummingbird would compliment the heliconia/ginger/angels trumpet painting!

(detail - watercolor) - Pelican study

(detail) Watercolor – Pelican study

“The heart is the thing that matters, the mingling of the heart with the heart of the wild bird:to become one with the thing I see.”  Walter Anderson

Pelican Harmony

Pelican Harmony

In late June, when I mentioned Walter Anderson, (Timeout: Happy in Nature) many of you had never heard of him or his brilliant and diverse body of work.   Anyone familiar with his paintings and story would probably say that the birds were his favorite subject.   (Anderson/Ocean Springs Mississippi 1903 -1965

frin APPROACHING THE MAGIC HOUR by Agnes Grinstead Anderson

from APPROACHING THE MAGIC HOUR by Agnes Grinstead Anderson

At times the birds on the river have such a profound effect on me, that I often compare my experience to Walter Anderson’s joy for the birds.  Once while using a friend’s kayak, I paddled up river and eased into a rookery tucked within hearing distance of my house.

mangroves P1480776 THE BIRDS AND I

The chatter and whimperings of my feathered friends from afar was a sweet tonic;  to witness the cacophony live and in person jolted my senses into high alert!

mangroves egrets

Although the birds dotted the outside edge of the mangroves, I never dreamed that so many species of birds crowded this dense habitat!  With mouth agape, I rejoiced and mingled with the birds as they adjusted to my presence.

MANGROVES P1480838

night herons nested beside egrets; egrets nested beside ibis…

What joy it was to sit with the paddle across my lap and camera in hand as the birds flitted from tree to tree and peered from almost every branch

mangroves heron P1480726

The overpowering smell of ammonia shocked my olfactory nerves, although I easily adjusted!

Ah, the mangroves provide visual comfort!

Ah, the mangroves provide visual comfort!

The outgoing tide nudged me into retreat, as did a flashing-red battery on the camera!  I bid farewell to the birds and ambled home while basking in the memory of my visit.

MANGROVES P1480773 ibis

Did you ever wish you could walk into the forest, hold out your hand and have a trusting bird alight in your palm?   Imagine snow falling around you, the quiet hush of the wilderness, and the hungry bird wishing for a few morsels of food.   With the click of your cursor, you can experience this magical moment through Donna – GardenWalk/Talk’s talented hands!

Final lagniappe for my journey home!

Final lagniappe for my journey home!

Visit Ailsa’s page for an amazing assortment of posts with this week’s bird theme, then appreciate the many varieties of JOY for the WordPress weekly theme!  Birds, birds and more birds – I think I’ll add a bird to the painting in progress!

A hummingbird would compliment the heliconia/ginger/angels trumpet painting!

A hummingbird (watercolor above) would compliment the heliconia/ginger/angels trumpet painting!