Tags

, ,

Don's first glimpse of the Pacific Ocean - Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica

Don’s first glimpse of the Pacific Ocean – Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica

At times when Life presents a hurdle or three in my path, instead of allowing a wave of self-pity was over me, I remind myself to be grateful that I am not facing that challenge from the vantage point of a wheelchair.    I am instantly upgraded to a more-positive attitude, and I spend the next few minutes counting my many many blessings.    I remember too well the day that my nephew’s world spun out of control, and that story can be found HERE.

Another hero to many is Arash Bayatmakou, whose determination to walk again is shared through his blog Arash Recovery.  This week he asked for help with a petition by stating:

“Too many paralyzed survivors of Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) are abandoned by their insurance companies, not provided with their most basic needs (such as a wheelchair), and told to adapt to their physical limitations despite the possibility for improvement.

This has to change.”

His closing paragraph states, “To learn more about my story (just one of the 12,000 annual cases of SCI in the US), check out: www.arashrecovery.com

He’s only 51 signatures short!  Let’s play ball!   Please sign the petition HERE and help bring this need into the spotlight.

Thanks!  Z

